Resistance to deep-sea mining: Governments and Parliamentarians


12 states have taken positions against deep-sea mining in international waters:

Moratorium Alliance: Palau, Fiji, Federated Stated of Micronesia, Samoa

The President of Palau, Surangel Whipps, Jr. launched a new Alliance of Countries Calling for a deep-Sea mining moratorium at the 2022 UN Ocean Conference in Lisbon. Fiji and Samoa were the first countries to join the Alliance, followed by the Federated States of Micronesia.

Moratorium position: New Zealand, The French Polynesian assembly.

Precautionary Pause: Germany, Costa Rica, Chile, Spain, Panama, Ecuador

Ban: France


The French MEP, Marie Toussaint, launched a new Global Parliamentary Declaration Calling for a Moratorium on Deep Seabed Mining on behalf of Parliamentarians for Global Action at the 2022 UN Ocean Conference.

European Parliament

The Parliament of the Canary Islands